Established in 1984 and named for Richard R. Dilling, an industry pioneer and former Vice President of AIM, the Dilling Award is the highest award given to an individual from the vendor community in the Automatic Identification and Data Capture (AIDC) industry. It is presented to executives, scientists, and engineers in recognition of outstanding contributions that have furthered the growth of the industry through important applications and new technological developments. The recipient is nominated and selected by the AIM president, and committee of the industry’s elite. Only one award is made each year, selected from many worthy candidates. The AIDC 100 became a co-sponsor of the Award in 2004.


2015 Matt Schler, Data Logic

2014 Frank Sharkey, GS 1

2013 Brian Marcel, IBCS Group

2012 Arvin Danielson, Intermec

2011  Ed Barkan, Motorola

2010  Steve Halliday, High Tech Aid

2009  Rick Schuessler, Motorola

2008  Craig Maddox, NCR

2007  Robert Hussey, Hand Held Products

2006  Alan Haberman, GS1 US

2005  Tom Brady, Uniform Code Council

2004  Craig K. Harmon, Q.E.D. Systems

2003  George Goldberg, SCAN Newsletter

2002  Harry Clark, KTP

2001  Charles Biss, Hand Held Products

2000  Jerome Swartz, Symbol Technologies

1999  Clive Hohberger, Zebra Technologies

1998  Jack O'Leary, Paxar IIMAK

1997  L. Michael Hone, Centennial Technologies

1996  Andy Longacre, Welch Allyn

1995  Rick Bushnell, Quad II

1994  H. Sprague Ackley, Intermec Corporation

1993  Joseph Sheppard, Xico

1992  David J. Collins, Data Capture Institute

1991  Ted C. Williams, Laserlight Systems

1990  Albert Wurz, Accu-Sort Systems

1989  Paul Bergé, Symbol Technologies

1988  Dr. David Allais, Applied Tactical Systems

1987  Chet Benoit, Welch Allyn

1986  Richard McDonald, Data Composition

1985  Ben Nelson, Markem Corporation

1984  Edmund Andersson, Computer Identics